The Anglo-Belgian Society

The Belgian Ball is organised by the Anglo-Belgian Society under the patronage of H.E. the Ambassador of Belgium. The Ball is organised for the benefit of the Royal Belgian Benevolent Society.

The Anglo-Belgian Society evolved from the Anglo-Belgian Union (1918-1982) and the Cercle Royal Belge de Londres (1922-1982), which merged in 1982.

Her Majesty the Queen and His Majesty King Baudouin graciously extended their patronage to the merged Society, which continues to this day, his Majesty King Albert II having agreed to the patronage when he came to the throne in 1994, and King Philippe in 2013.

In 2012, the Society took over the social, cultural and sporting activities of the Anglo-Belgian Club.

The objectives of the Society are “to help maintain and develop on a personal level the friendship which has always existed between the British and Belgian peoples, to promote cultural and social relations between the two peoples and to commemorate the brotherhood in arms which arose in two World Wars”.

The Society organises and promotes a variety of social, cultural and sporting events at different venues for the benefit of its members, and on some occasions, their guests.

Keynote events include the Ball in the Spring, an annual yachting weekend in May, Royal Ascot in June, Summer Reception and BBQ to celebrate the Belgian National Day in July, Annual Dinner to celebrate King’s day in November as well as the First Tuesday Drinks, an informal drinks reception held jointly every month with the Belgian-Luxembourg Chamber of Commerce.

Representatives of the Society join the British Legion and the Anciens Combattants Belges on two important annual events: the Belgian Parade at the Cenotaph in July and the Kindling of the Torch at Westminster Abbey in November.

The Society is at the heart of the Anglo-Belgian community and maintains close relationships with the Belgian Embassy and the Belgian-Luxembourg Chamber of Commerce.

Under the patronage of Her Majesty The Queen and of His Majesty The King Of The Belgians

The present officers of the Anglo-Belgian Society are:

The Rt Hon the Lord Astor of Hever PC DL

Mrs Caroline Colvin CMG

Hon. Secretary:
Mr Jean-Christophe Maerten

Hon. Treasurer:
Mr Paul Cameron Taylor